Punjab Government Enforces ‘Smart Lockdown’ in 10 Districts to Tackle Smog

punjab government enforces 'smart lockdown' in 10 districts to tackle smog

Today, the government of Punjab announced a ‘smart lockdown’ in 10 districts to fight smog. This means some restrictions will be put in place to help reduce smog.

The Punjab Relief Commissioner, Nabil Javed, gave orders to limit normal activities in Lahore and Gujranwala areas. Transportation in Lahore, Nankana Sahib, Sheikhupura, Kasur, Gujranwala, Gujarat, Sialkot, Narowal, Hafizabad, and Mandi Bahauddin will be controlled.

From today, all schools and colleges in these districts will be closed. However, they can still have classes online if they choose to. Also, markets, shops, cinemas, and offices will be closed until 3 pm.

Nabil Javed emphasized that both people and the government need to work together to avoid the harmful effects of smog. Smog causes diseases, so it’s important for everyone to cooperate, including businesses.